06 November 2010

Reading list: Winners of Man Asian Literary Prize

The Man Asian Literary Prize is awarded to the year's best novel, either in English or translated into English, by an Asian writer. It was founded in 2007 and covers 27 countries and special administrative regions in Asia.

The winner is chosen by a panel of judges. Previously, entries come from submitted manuscripts (unpublished novels), but a new format was announced this year wherein the eligible entries will only be those books published in the previous calendar year.

The prize is sponsored by Man Group plc. – the same sponsor for the Man Booker Prize, the Man Booker International Prize, and The Lost Man Booker Prize.

Prize: The author gets USD 30,000 while the translator (if any) gets USD 5,000.

Official site: http://www.manasianliteraryprize.org/

Winners of Man Asian Literary Prize

2009 The Boat to Redemption Su Tong, translated by Howard Goldblatt

2008 Ilustrado Miguel Syjuco

2007 Wolf Totem Jiang Rong, translated by Howard Goldblatt

No comments:

Post a Comment