06 November 2010

Reading list: Winners of French-American Foundation Translation Prizes

The annual Translation Prizes (for fiction and nonfiction) are given by the French-American Foundation, with the support of the Florence Gould Foundation, for the best translation from French. It started in 1986.

The latest winner in fiction category is John Cullen for Philippe Claudel's Brodeck. (Not sure who won in the non-fiction category.)


Winners of the Florence Gould Foundation and the French-American Foundation Translation Prizes

2009 • John Cullen for Brodeck by Philippe Claudel (Nan A. Talese/Doubleday)

2008 • Jody Gladding & Elizabeth Deshays for their translation of Small Lives by Pierre Michon (Archipelago Books) • Matthew Cobb & Malcolm DeBevoise for their translation of Life Explained by Michel Morange (Yale University Press/Odile Jacob).

2007 • Linda Coverdale for her translation of Ravel by Jean Echenoz (The New Press) • Linda Asher for her translation of The Curtain by Milan Kundera (HarperCollins)

2006 • Sandra Smith for her translation of Suite Française by Irène Némirovsky (Alred A. Knopf Publishers) • Bruce Fink for his translation of Écrits by Jaques Lacan (Norton)

2005 • Daniel Weissbort for his translation of Missing Person by Patrick Modiano (David Godine) • Sharon Bowman for her translation of The American Enemy: the History of French Anti-Americanism by Philippe Roger (University of Chicago Press)

2004 • Helen Marx for her translation of Silbermann by Jacques de Lacretelle (Helen Marx Books) • Arthur Goldhammer for his translation of Democracy in America by Alexis de Tocqueville (The Library of America)

2003 • Lydia Davis for her translation Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust (Viking Press) • Janet Lloyd for her translation The Writing of Orpheus by Marcel Detienne (Johns Hopkins University Press)

2002 • Jeff Fort for his translation of Aminadab by Maurice Blanchot (University of Nebraska Press) • James Hogarth for his translation of The Toilers of the Sea by Victor Hugo (Modern Library) • Anthony Roberts for his translation of Jihad by Gilles Kepel (Harvard University Press)

2001 • Jordan Stump for his translation of The Jardin des Plantes by Claude Simon (Northwestern University Press)

2000 • Linda Asher for her translation of The Case of Dr. Sachs by Martin Winckler (Seven Stories Press)

1999 • Richard Howard for his translation of The Charterhouse of Parma by Stendhal (Random House)

1998 • Madeleine Velguth for her translation of Children of Clay by Raymond Queneau (Sun & Moon Press)

1997 • Linda Coverdale for her translation of Literature or Life by Jorge Semprun (Viking Penguin) • Barbara Wright for her translation of Here by Nathalie Sarraute (George Braziller)

1996 • Arthur Goldhammer for her translation of Realms of Memory: The Construction of the French Past, vol. 1 by Pierre Nora (Columbia University Press)

1994 • Joachim Neugroschel for his translation of With Downcast Eyes by Tahar Ben Jelloun (Little Brown & Co.)

1993 • Nina Rootes for her translation of Sky Memoirs by Blaise Cendrars (Paragon House)

1992 • Lydia Davis for her translation of Rules of the Game I: Scratches by Michel Leiris (Paragon House)

1991 • Burton Raffel for his translation of Gargantua and Pantagruel by François Rabelais (Norton)

1990 • Arthur Goldhammer for his translation of A Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution by François Furet and Mona Ozouf (Belknap Press of Harvard University Press)

1989 • Franklin Philip for his translation of The Statue Within by François Jacob (Basic Books)

1988 • David Bellos for his translation of Life, a User's Manual by Georges Perec (David Godine Publishers)

1987 • Richard Howard for his translation of William Marshal, the Flowering of Chivalry by Georges Duby (Pantheon Books)

1986 • Barbara Bray for her translation of The Writing of Stones by Roger Callois (University of Virginia Press)

Past winners
2009 finalists

No comments:

Post a Comment