04 November 2010

Reading list: Winners of Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize

Since 1999, the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize is awarded for translations into English of works from any living European language. It honors the craft of translation and recognises its cultural importance. The winner is selected by a panel made up of various members of the language and literature faculty of Oxford University and an assessor from another university.

Site: http://www.st-annes.ox.ac.uk/about/oxford-weidenfeld-translation-prize.html

Winners of the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize

2011 Margaret Jull Costa for her translation of The Elephant's Journey by José Saramago (Harvill Secker)

2010 Jamie McKendrick, for The Embrace by Valerio Magrelli (Faber and Faber)

2009 Anthea Bell, for Sasa Stanisic's How the Soldier Repairs the Gramophone (Weidenfeld and Nicolson)

2008 Margaret Jull Costa, for Eça de Queiroz's The Maias (Dedalus)

2007 Michael Hofmann, for Durs Grünbein's Ashes for Breakfast: Selected Poems (Faber)

2006 Len Rix, for Magda Szabo's The Door (Harvill Secker)

2005 Denis Jackson, for Theodor Storm's Paul the Puppeteer (Angel Books)

2004 Michael Hofmann, for Ernst Junger's Storm of Steel (Penguin)

2003 Ciaran Carson, for Dante Alighieri's Inferno (Granta)

2002 Patrick Thursfield and Katalin Banffy-Jelen, for Miklos Banffy's They Were Divided (Arcadia)

2001 Edwin Morgan, for Phaedra by Jean Racine (Carcanet) into Scots.

2000 Margaret Jull Costa, for Jose Saramago's All the Names (Harvill)

1999 Jonathan Galassi, for Eugenio Montale's Collected Poems (Carcanet)