03 November 2010

Reading list: Commonwealth Writers' Prize winners

According to the wiki, the Commonwealth Writers' Prize is organized and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation, an intergovernmental organization working in 53 countries of the Commonwealth of Nations. It covers the four Commonwealth regions of: (1) Africa, (2) Europe and South Asia, (3) the Caribbean and Canada, and (4) South East Asia and the South Pacific.

Selection process and prizes

In each Commonwealth region, the books are assessed by a regional panel of judges. There are two winners: one for the Best Book and one for the Best First Book, each winner awarded with £1,000.

A pan-Commonwealth panel will then select the overall winners from the eight regional winners' books. The author of the overall Best Book wins £10,000 while the winner of overall Best First Book gets £5,000. The list below is only for the winners of the overall Best Book.

Winners of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Best Book)

2010 Solo Rana Dasgupta

2009 The Slap Christos Tsiolkas

2008 The Book of Negroes Lawrence Hill

2007 Mister Pip Lloyd Jones

2006 The Secret River Kate Grenville

2005 Small Island Andrea Levy

2004 A Distant Shore Caryl Phillips

2003 The Polished Hoe Austin Clarke

2002 Gould's Book of Fish Richard Flanagan

2001 True History of the Kelly Gang Peter Carey

2000 Disgrace J. M. Coetzee

1999 Eucalyptus Murray Bail

1998 Jack Maggs Peter Carey

1997 Salt Earl Lovelace

1996 A Fine Balance Rohinton Mistry

1995 Captain Corelli's Mandolin Louis de Bernières

1994 A Suitable Boy Vikram Seth

1993 The Ancestor Game Alex Miller

1992 Such a Long Journey Rohinton Mistry

1991 The Great World David Malouf

1990 Solomon Gursky Was Here Mordecai Richler

1989 The Carpathians Janet Frame

1988 Heroes Festus Iyayi

1987 Summer Lightning Olive Senior

No comments:

Post a Comment