30 October 2010

Reading list: Winners of Premio Valle-Inclán & Calouste Gulbenkian Prize

Premio Valle-Inclán is an annual prize awarded to the translator of a book from Spanish to English. It is administered by The Society of Authors. Here’s the complete list of winners.

2010 Joint winners Christopher Johnson for Selected Poetry of Francisco de Quevedo (University of Chicago Press) and
Margaret Jull Costa for Your Face Tomorrow 3: Poison, Shadow and Farewell by Javier Marías (Chatto and Windus)

2009 Margaret Jull Costa for The Accordionist’s Son by Bernardo Atxaga (Harvill Secker)
Runner up: Edith Grossman Happy Families by Carlos Fuentes (Bloomsbury)

2008 Joint winners Nick Caistor The Past by Alan Pauls (Harvill Secker) and
John Dent-Young for Selected Poems by Luis de Góngora (The University of Chicago Press)

2007 Nick Caistor The Sleeping Voice by Dulce Chacón (Harvill Secker/Alfaguara)
Runner-up: John Cullen Lies by Enrique de Hériz (Weidenfeld/Edhasa)

2006 Margaret Jull Costa Your Face Tomorrow 1: Fever and Spear by Javier Marias (Chatto & Windus)
Runner up: Sonia Soto The Oxford Murders by Guillermo Martinez (Abacus)

2005 Chris Andrews Distant Star by Roberto Bolaño (Harvill)
Runner up: Margaret Jull Costa The Man of Feeling by Javier Marías (Harvill)

2004 Anne McLean Soldiers of Salamis by Javier Cercas (Bloomsbury)

2003 Sam Richard Not Only Fire by Benjamin Prado (Faber and Faber)

2002 John Rutherford Don Quixote by Miguel Cervantes (Penguin)
Runner up: Margaret Sayers Peden Portrait in Sepia by Isabel Allende (Flamingo)

2001 Timothy Adès Homer in Cuernavaca by Alfonso Reyes (Edinburgh University Press)
Runner up: Edith Grossman The Messenger by Mayra Montero (Harvill)

2000 Sonia Soto Winter in Lisbon by Antonio Muñoz Molina (Granta)
Runner up: Margaret Sayers Peden Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende (Flamingo)

1999 Don Share I Have Lots of Heart by Miguel Hernández (Bloodaxe)

1997 Peter Bush The Marx Family Saga by Juan Goytisolo (Faber)

Also administered by the same society, the Calouste Gulbenkian Prize for translation from the Portuguese is awarded every three years.

2009 Peter Bush for Equator by Miguel Sousa Tavares (Bloomsbury)
Runner up: Margaret Jull Costa The City and the Mountains by Eça de Queíroz (Dedalus)

2002 Richard Zenith The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa (Penguin)
Runner up: Margaret Jull Costa The Migrant Painter of Birds by Lidia Jorge (Harvill)

1998 Landeg White The Lusídas by Luis Vaz de Camões (OUP)

1995 Giovanni Pontiero The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by Jose Saramago (Harvill)

1992 Margaret Jull Costa The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa (Serpent’s Tail),
Nicholas Round Freiluis de Sousa by Almeida Garrett (unpublished)


See also winners of translation prizes from other languages (Arabic, Dutch/Flemish, French, German, Italian, Modern Greek, and Swedish):

(See other translation prizes here.)

No comments:

Post a Comment